Saving Up for Disney

Budgeting Tips for Your Entire Life!

Eat at Home and Save – DIY Artisan Bread

Leave a comment

 

Artisan Bread at home {Saving up for Disney}

I LOVE BREAD.

Give me a warm crusty loaf and a drizzle of olive oil with cracked pepper and I’m in Heaven! A coworker brought in one of these beautiful artisan loaves and I just had to know how she made it. She lent me her book and after trying out a few recipes I was hooked and bought it for myself.

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day will make you rethink everything you ever thought you knew about baking bread at home.

  • Magic touch required in regards to yeast and warmth? Nope!
  • Time consuming? Not a bit.
  • Endless kneading? Never.
  • Fancy mixing machine with a bread hook? No, a wooden spoon or your bare hands work just fine!

This is how I bake my loaves, with the Dutch oven instructions. The recipes generally call for extremely high temperatures which, during the summer, make your home impossibly hot. So this recipe would be fun to try:  Baking focaccia on the grill!

Artisan Bread DIY {Saving Up for Disney}

There are only a few ingredients needed (flour, water, salt and yeast) for a basic loaf. Extremely inexpensive to make (especially if you buy your flour out of the bulk bins). The new methods presented are worth the cost of this book as you can make many different types of breads from the one recipe. And here’s the nifty part…wonder why the book is called Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day? Because once you make the recipe you can store it in the refrigerator for up to two weeks and only remove the amount you need at a given time. So great when you just want to make a quick loaf to serve with dinner.

I’m having a great time with the book, trying out new recipes. And my husband, who is very particular with the food he eats, loves knowing exactly what ingredients are going into the loaves. I promise, even if you’re scared to bake with yeast or you’ve had trouble with getting bread to rise in the past, this recipe is delightfully foolproof. You will love this book!

I took the last bit of dough I had last week, flattened it out and set it on a baking stone covered in cornmeal. Slathered in tomato sauce and covered in mozzarella, it was one of the tastiest pizzas I’ve ever had! And I made it myself at home, perfection!

DIY pizza with Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day {Saving Up for Disney}

 

Leave a Reply

